An Evening of Chamber Music – Concert with Cello and Piano Polina Spirina (links) – Nargiza Yusupova (rechts) The organiser

An Evening of Chamber Music – Concert with Cello and Piano

| Kleiner Konzertsaal/Small Concert Hall

€ 20; reduced € 15 (pupils & students); Box office: € 22; reduced € 17

This is a past event.

Buy ticket

and other ticket offices.

Music – Classical Music
Save the date

Nargiza Yusupova and Polina Spirina have been performing together since 2015, and both artists share a passion for chamber music. In addition to performing the classic literature for cello and piano, they also devote themselves to unknown works deserving of greater attention in the concert hall.

In this concert, the duo presents a rarely played sonata by A. Borodin, »Hommage a Bach«, based on a theme from a Bach fugue. In no other piece are Baroque music and soulful Russian music so intensely intertwined. There is also a world premiere featured. The Munich composer Pierre-Dominique Ponnelle composed a sonata for cello and piano dedicated to Nargiza Yusupova.  The sonata is in three movements and is at once melodic, then rhythmically pointed, sometimes in free meter, with a fast movement in the middle. The concert closes with the emotional sonata by César Franck, the harmonies here reminiscent of Wagner, Liszt and Brahms.

(Nargiza Yusupova, Munich)