Armenian State Symphony Orchestra – Sergey Smbatyan  Maxim Vengerov The organiser

Armenian State Symphony Orchestra – Sergey Smbatyan
Maxim Vengerov

| Philharmonie/Philharmonic Hall

€ 30,– bis € 70,–

This is a past event.

Buy ticket

and other ticket offices.

Music – Classical Music
Music – Contemporary Classical Music
Save the date

Celebrated violinist Maxim Vengerov joins the Armenian State Symphony Orchestra (ASSO) European Tour in a programme reflecting on the strength of human spirit. The tour is organized by the European Foundation for Support of Culture.
Under the baton of Sergey Smbatyan, ASSO Artist-in-Residence 2019/20 Vengerov shows the strength of his technique in Bruch’s Violin Concerto and Ravel’s Tzigane, two of the most popular works in the violin canon, along with an emotive Lonely Sail by contemporary American-Maltese composer Alexey Shor exploring feelings in a particular moment of time.
The ASSO also present the European premiere of Armenian composer John Ter-Tatevosian’s Symphony No 2 »The Fate of Man«, in which Ter-Tatevosian acknowledges that, through the ups and downs of life, there is the uniquely human ability to roll with the punches, fight in the face of adversity and strive for better.

(European Foundation for Support of Culture Konstantin Ishkhanov, St Julian's, Malta)

  • Composer: Alexey ShorOpus: Seascapes – »Lonely Sail« for Violin and Orchestra
  • Composer: John Ter-TadewosjanOpus: Symphony No. 2 »The Fate of a Man«
  • Composer: Max BruchOpus: Violin Concerto No 1 in G minor, Op 26
  • Composer: Maurice RavelOpus: Concert-Rhapsody »Tzigane« for violin and orchestra (»Gypsy«)