Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra – Blomstedt
Grieg / Schubert

| Philharmonie/Philharmonic Hall

This is a past event.

Unfortunately, this event will not take place. Tickets already purchased will be refunded.

Buy ticket

and other ticket offices.

Informationen für RollstuhlfahrerInformation for wheelchair users:
Phone: 0800.59 00 594 (within Germany)
+49 (0)89.59 00 10 88 0 (international)

Music – Classical Music
Save the date

For more information regarding tickets already purchased please visit the website of BRticket.

Tilman Lichdi, tenor
Christian Immler, baritone
Bavarian Radio Chorus
Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra

Conductor: Herbert Blomstedt

A milestone in the 19th-century symphonic repertoire: even Robert Schumann waxed ecstatic at the »heavenly lengths« of Schubert’s Great C-major Symphony. Schubert’s path-breaking achievement was to compose, only one year after Beethoven’s Ninth, a similarly ambitious work that nonetheless struck out on paths all its own. Mozart’s virtuoso motet Exsultate, jubilate, sung by the Russian coloratura soprano Julia Lezheva, provides stunning opening to our annual benefit concert, held on Friday for the Süddeutsche Zeitung’s Advent Calendar. In contrast, Saturday’s programme will open with two of the Four Psalms for a cappella chorus by the Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg. Herbert Blomstedt, a Swedish conductor highly esteemed by the Munich public, will lend these pieces a delightful Scandinavian tinge.

Important notice for the 2020/2021 Season of the BRSO
Tickets can be purchased by phone, at the ticket office of BRticket and through the BRticket-webshop. Due to restrictions limiting the number of audience members, most programmes will be offered twice per evening, each lasting approximately one hour. Please note that a maximum of 2 tickets per person can be booked for each concert. Ticket sales are subject to change, as the state government’s regulations regarding the number of visitors can change at any time. You can find more information about ticket sales on the website of the BRSO.


  • Composer: Franz SchubertOpus: Symphony No 8 in C major D 944 »The Great C major«
  • Composer: Edvard GriegOpuses: Four Psalms, Op 74, 1 »Hvad est du dog skjön« , Four Psalms, Op 74, 4 »I Himmelen«