Charity concert by the Ukrainian Freedom Orchestra The organiser

Charity concert by the Ukrainian Freedom Orchestra

| Isarphilharmonie | Gasteig HP8

From € 33.40

Homepage Organiser

Music – Classical Music
Save the date

Under the patronage of mayor Dieter Reiter

Ukrainian Freedom Orchestra
Liudmyla Monastyrska, soprano
Anna Fedorova, piano
Keri-Lynn Wilson, conductor
Produced by: The Metropolitan Opera, Teatr Wielki Polish National Opera

As a gesture of solidarity with the victims of the war in Ukraine, the Metropolitan Opera New York and the Polish National Opera have brought together leading Ukrainian musicians to form the »Ukrainian Freedom Orchestra«. The orchestra is made up of musicians who have fled the country, Ukrainian members of European orchestras and some of the top artists from Kyiv, Lviv, Kharkiv, Odesa and other cities in Ukraine. The Ukrainian Ministry of Culture and Information Policy is supporting the project by exempting male musicians from military service to participate in the tour – a remarkable demonstration of the power of art and culture.

Under the baton of Canadian/Ukrainian conductor Keri-Lynn Wilson, the orchestra will perform a programme that includes Symphony No 7 by Ukrainian composer Valentin Silvestrov, Chopin’s Piano Concerto No 2 with Ukrainian virtuoso Anna Fedorova and Dvořák’s Symphony No 9. Leading Ukrainian soprano Liudmyla Monastyrska will also sing Leonore’s big aria from Beethoven’s Fidelio – a hymn to humanity and peace in the face of violence and atrocity.

As well as concert performances in the United Kingdom, France, the Netherlands, New York and Washington D.C., the ensemble will give a guest performance at the Isarphilharmonie in Munich on 1 August 2022. Proceeds from the concert will go to the »Stiftung Bundesjugendorchester« foundation, which has established a fundraising campaign for its Ukrainian partner orchestra, the Youth Symphony Orchestra of Ukraine, and its musicians. The Bundesjugendorchester – Germany’s National Youth Orchestra – advised and supported the YSOU when it was founded in 2017. Many of the YSOU’s young artists and their families have been forced to flee their homes. The Slovenian Youth Orchestra has set up a music camp in Ljubljana that will accommodate as many YSOU members as possible. They will be able to continue their education and training, and working with the orchestra will give them a meaningful purpose.


  • Composer: Valentin SilvestrovOpus: Symphonie Nr. 7
  • Computers: Beethoven, Ludwig van BeethovenOpus: »Abscheulicher! Wo eilst du hin? ... Komm, Hoffnung«, Arie der Leonore aus »Fidelio«
  • Composer: Frédéric ChopinOpus: Concerto for piano and orchestra No 2 in F minor, Op 21
  • Composer: Antonín DvořákOpus: Symphony No 9 in E minor, Op 95 »Z Nového sveta« (»From the New World«)

You might also be interested in: