Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia – Janine Jansen, viola Janine Jansen Decca/Marco Borggreve

Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia – Janine Jansen, viola

| Philharmonie/Philharmonic Hall

€ 57.80 to € 138.30

This is a past event.

Buy ticket

and other ticket offices.

Informationen für RollstuhlfahrerInformation for wheelchair users:
Phone: +49 (0)89.93 60 93

Advanced ticket sales at München Ticket (Phone: +49 (0)89.54 81 81 81)

Music – Classical Music
Save the date

Conducted by Sir Antonio Pappano

Founded in 1908 and steeped in tradition, the Roman Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia can look back on a formidable history. Among its conductors have been such grandees as Arturo Toscanini, Wilhelm Furtwängler and Herbert von Karajan. Since 2005, the internationally sought-after conductor Sir Antonio Pappano is the Roman orchestra’s musical director. Born in London as the son of Italian parents, Pappano studied conducting, composition and piano in the United States and – when he does not happen to be conducting a leading orchestra – can also be found at the piano, accompanying artists such as Joyce DiDonato, Ian Bostridge or the Dutch violinist Janine Jansen on stage.

Janine Jansen, incidentally, is also well known to Munich audiences, being »Artist in Residence« at MünchenMusik for the 2018/19 season. The Süddeutsche Zeitung recently praised her sound, stating that »she produces a tone full of sweet incandescence in the high register, while her low range possesses a richness like that of a viola«. Jansen thus seems to be the ideal choice for Mendelssohn’s buoyant and yet plaintive Violin Concerto.

(MünchenMusik GmbH & Co. KG)

  • Composer: Ludwig van BeethovenOpus: »King Stephen« Overture, Op 117
  • Composer: Felix Mendelssohn BartholdyOpus: Concerto for violin and orchestra in E minor, Op 64
  • Composer: Robert SchumannOpus: Symphony No 1 B major, Op 38 »Spring«